Grandparents

I use to think I had young grandparents. When I was little all of my grandparents were still alive. They would play with us when we would go and visit. They were never in the hospital. Freak, I still have a great grandmother alive. The last couple of weeks I have realized just how luck I was. Over a month ago my mom’s dad was admitted into the hospital because of an infection in his leg. Two weeks ago he had his leg amputated. The day after that my dad’s dad went to the hospital for a minor surgery. Then tonight my dad’s mom had to go to the emergency room because of a work injury. Needless to say I have spend quite a bit of time at hospitals over the past few weeks. In a way it makes me just want to run away. But in another way it makes me really grateful for the family I have. My family is so caring and loving. Everyday someone has been up to visit one of my grandparents or has been by their side while in the hospital. I really couldn’t ask for a better family. I am so glad that I have been able to know my grandparents and learn from them. I know that someday I will look back at this time and be grateful that I got to go through this. If you still have grandparents alive please cherish them, thank them, hug them, spend time with them. You never know when something may happen.

Leave a Reply

