My First Tattoo

I was one of those girls that got a tattoo right when I turned 18. I still remember I was sitting in art class, staring at this boy that I thought was cute, thinking that he would think that I was super cool if I went and got a tattoo. (He had just gotten “Screw You” tattooed on the inside of his lip.) At that moment I realized I actually could go get a tattoo. I started texting everyone that I knew that would be willing to go with me and not try to talk me out of this. I had no clue what I was in for. When people said that they injected ink into your skin with needles I thought they meant hypodermic needles. I thought there was no way possible they could stick you with hypodermic needles like that. (I have no clue what I thought they did. And no I hadn’t seen Ink Masters)

I finally found someone that would go with me, and of course it was one of my few friends that actually lived the Mormon Life. (Don’t ask me why she went).. I really hadn’t done much research into this whole getting a tattoo event so I figured I would go to the closest place which just happened to be up the street from my house. I didn’t know that you were supposed to make an appointment. I thought you could just walk in. Well, I couldn’t so I had to wait about 20 minutes for someone to tattoo me. When the artist was ready he asked if I knew what I wanted. I looked at him and said “I want a flower on my hip.” His response was “What kind of flower?” I didn’t know. Freak, I didn’t know that I could choose different kinds. This was all new to me. So I just said “Something kind of tropical looking.” He went into the back and came out with a sketch, “Like this?” he asked. It was what I had in mind so he prepared me for my tattoo.

We walked back to his little tattoo booth, my friend following in the rear. I can only imagine what she is thinking by this time. I am pretty sure she thought I was crazy. My phone was blowing up, everyone wanted pictures. It was insane. Anyways, he had me climb up onto his tattoo table and pull my pants down far enough to tattoo. (When I say on my hip, I meant like side hip, underneath the panty line.) He put up a privacy screen so that no one could look in. He then transferred the sketch onto my hip. He asked me if I was sure that I wanted this and I was so out came the tattoo gun. And he started.

At first, I was shocked, there was a needle injecting ink into my skin. I was relived that it wasn’t hypodermic needles. He was pretty quick and went over the line twice. By the second time I was starting to feel a lot of pain so I was anxious to get it over with. At this point he said to me, “Now for the worst part.” I started thinking to myself “What the hell? I don’t think I can go through with anything else.” Then he was like “I am just kidding, you are done.” He quickly cleaned up and wrapped my tattoo. I went to the counter and paid $85 for a tattoo that was about the size of a fifty cent piece. (I thought that was cheap). I was on my way.

My friend would not stop talking about it in the car. She started talking about how she wanted one and how it didn’t look so bad. I was in shock that I had gone through with it. I mean 5 hours earlier I hadn’t even planned on getting a tattoo that day. I had always wanted them but I hadn’t made a real decision on one. I took my friend make to her house and went home. I went to get in the shower. As I was standing in the bathroom, naked, it really hit me. I had my first tattoo. I was so excited. I thought I was so bad ass. I wanted everyone to know. I was mad that I had gotten one in such a discrete place. It looked so cool. I just wanted to show it off.

It took me about a week to get use to seeing a tattoo on my hip every time I got undressed. Half the time I forgot it was there. That first week I told a lot of people. Everyone wanted to see. I eventually just showed people pictures since it was awkward showing people. The kid I got my tattoo to impress, thought that it was cool. Other people in my life thought I was crazy. But at the end of the day I loved it. I don’t regret that tattoo at all. It still makes me smile when I see it.

Leave a Reply

